Reminiscing fond memories straight from Naples

There are certain places u wanna go coz it’s popular & attracts wider crowds and there are certain places u wait to go after the inauguration like a new restaurant opening new near your place or a well-known food chain starts up in your town. This place was one such instance, where I had been watching this place with the opening soon sign right from day 1, I remember making a comment to my friend on visiting this place once it opens up. Napoli Bistro named after a place in Italy Naples is a Italian fine-dine place located in HSR right on the main road just above the newly opened CCD.

I had plans to meet up a long lost friend of mine, who recently moved to Bangalore with her hubby. Lost in the crowded population of Bangalore I was the only friend she had here. We decided to meet up on a weekday to munch on Italian dishes and reminisce on our old stories around 1 in the noon. As we entered the premises, we choose our table right beside the glass window for a whole outdoor view.
We started off our mean with the soup of the day. Apparently the soup being served that day was Miso Soup. This was the first time I took a raincheck on my usual Manchow soup and went ahead with miso, not coz I liked it, but coz I dint have a choice. Moreover, once in a while change is good. What can I say about the soup? For starters I dint like it much, initially I thought there would be something wrong with the soup but later I got to know that miso soup is just like beer. It’s an acquired taste rather than love at first sight thingi.
Next we moved on to out starter which was Cheesy Masala which was supposed to be garlic bread topped with Indian spices. Personally, I would have picked a Quesadilla or a Bruschetta, but my friend was very keen on eating garlic bread, so I gave it to her and ordered Cheesy Masala, and I am glad I did it coz it was nothing like this traditional garlic bread, I mean yea it was, but slightly different. Here a typical garlic bread is topped with lot of veggies like capsicum, red and yellow bell peppers, onions, tomatoes and a lot of cheese! Top it with pepper and chili flakes along with tomato sauce and you will Slurp Slurp Slurp!  On a lazy summer afternoon I might try this recipe at home too; you never know 😉
My friend has never tried Italian dish before, atleast not the traditional pizza’s or lasagna’s, so I wanted to treat her with the authentic Italian food. Was this bistro traditional with just its name? Would it actually provide a traditional Italian dishes? All this questions was yet to be unravelled. For the mains we ordered  BBQ pizza and Veg Lasagna. Pizza was served hot, a medium pizza with 6 pieces in it. It was decent enough for 2 folks to eat yet not stomach filling. Thin crust base with barbeque sauce seasoned with paneer, pepper bells, onions and lots of cheese topped with cilantro. Tastes crispy, hot and yummy!
Next came in the lasagna. My friend loved this dish and to be truthful I loved it too. Its been one of the best lasagna’s I had in a very long time. Layered pasta stuffed with vegetables and soaked in melted cheese…Mmmmm..It was a yum orgy ;). The only complain I could possibly think of is that, they served just one tosted bread with lasagna rather than 2. SIGH!
All this dishes were paired with my Blue Curacao Mojito, a perfect blend of Blue Curacao, lime and Mojito blended with ice cubes and mint leaves.
Overall a nice experience and tasty food. The only lacking part they had was lack of will to compete and do something different. Would I go back here? Probably not, coz Bangalore provides better Italian options than Napoli. Should you go there? Why not, for a change. Won’t grill a huge hole into ur pockets anyways.

Leave a comment